Royaume-Uni.png France Allemagne

History

Despite defeat, Alesia remains an important moment in the History of the French.

In general we tend to forget failures more quickly or erase them completely from memory. Yet even today, several regions of France are literally fighting to be declared “official site of the battle of Alesia”! But why?

Alesia was the siege where the ultimate combat took place against emperor Julius Caesar and the “head of the Arverni” . The clash was of course one-sided! Rome and its armies on the one side, Vercingetorix, Gallic chief on the other. Yet the latter inflicted a surprising defeat faced with Caesar’s army in Gergovie. Most importantly Vercingetorix represented a new danger for Rome; he had just succeeded in doing what no Gallic chief had done before him: he had unified, after the victory of Gergovie, the many small Celtic tribes living in Gaul and had proclaimed himself, in Bibracte, “Chief of the Gauls”. Eduens, Arvernes, Carnutes and other Bituriges, who had fought among themselves for so many years, much to Rome’s amusement, finally came to understand the concept of united we stand.

A nation had just been born and the Celts of Gaul had finally found a leader! Alesia possibly remains in the collective unconscious of the French, like the birth of our nation, the “first stone” of the History of France. Vercingetorix retreated on the mound of Alesia. The place, from a strategic point of view, doomed the Gallic chief to failure. Vercingetorix, a strategist, had to have a reason to retreat from this so special place. Surrounded on this mound with his 80,000 warriors, Vercingetorix surrendered to Caesar in exchange for the mercy of his men.

But Caesar would not keep his promise and the Gallic chief was taken to Rome to symbolise the “triumph of the Emperor” before being strangled after 6 years of solitary confinement.  But for the great Arverne chief the important thing was achieving the unity of the Celts, on what was maybe the mythical place of their origin…

Alesia is “officially” situated in Alise-Sainte-Reine in the Côte d’Or. Napoleon III had excavations carried out there. Although precise, Caesar’s writings leave room for various interpretations concerning this battle. So Alaise in the Doubs, Salins-les-Bains in the Jura and Guillon in the Yonne contest the official version in favour of their town.

For more information type “Alesia” in your search engine and you can freely read the version of each.  It’s up to you to form an opinion.

Royaume-Uni.png France Allemagne

Histoire

Malgré la défaite, Alésia demeure pour les Français un moment important de leur Histoire.

En général, on a plutôt tendance à oublier rapidement les échecs, ou à les occulter de notre mémoire. Pourtant, de nos jours encore, plusieurs régions de France se battent littéralement pour être déclarées « site officiel de la bataille d’Alésia » ! Mais pour quelle raison ?

Alésia fut le siège où se déroula l’ultime combat entre l’empereur Jules César et le « chef des Arvernes « . Le combat était évidemment inégal ! Rome et ses légions d’un côté, Vercingétorix, chef gaulois de l’autre. Pourtant ce dernier venait d’infliger une défaite surprenante face aux légions de César, à Gergovie. Mais plus encore, Vercingétorix représentait un danger nouveau pour Rome : il venait de réussir ce qu’aucun chef gaulois n’avait fait avant lui : Il avait unifié, après la victoire de Gergovie, les multiples peuplades celtes vivant en Gaule et s’était fait proclamer, à Bibracte , « Chef des Gaules « . Eduens, Arvernes, Carnutes et autres Bituriges, qui se battaient entre eux depuis tant d’années, sous le regard amusé de Rome, venaient enfin de comprendre que l’union faisait la force.

Une nation venait de naître : les Celtes de Gaule avaient enfin trouvé un chef ! Alésia demeure, peut être, dans l’inconscient collectif français, comme la naissance de notre nation, la  » première pierre  » de l’Histoire de la France. Vercingétorix se replia sur la butte d’Alésia. Le lieu, du point de vue stratégique, vouait le chef gaulois à l’échec. Vercingétorix, fin stratège, devait avoir une raison pour se retirer sur cet endroit si particulier. Encerclé sur cette butte, avec ses 80.000 guerriers, Vercingétorix se rend à César en échange de la grâce pour ses hommes.

Mais César ne tiendra pas sa promesse et le chef gaulois est emmené à Rome pour figurer le « triomphe de l’Empereur », avant d’être étranglé après 6 ans de cachot. Mais pour le grand chef arverne, l’essentiel aura été de réaliser l’unité des Celtes, sur ce qui fût, peut-être, le lieu mythique de leur origine…

Alésia est « officiellement » situé à Alise-Sainte-Reine, en Côte d’Or. Napoléon III y fit entreprendre des fouilles. Bien que précis, les écrits de César permettent diverses interprétations concernant cette bataille. Ainsi, Alaise dans le Doubs, Salins-les-Bains dans le Jura, ou encore Guillon dans l’Yonne contestent la version officielle au profit de leur commune.

Pour plus d’information, taper « Alésia » dans votre moteur de recherche et vous pourrez lire librement la version de chacun. A vous de vous faire votre opinion